

BOARD OF TRUSTEES// Susan Carroll-Boser Chair Jon Cardi Vice Chair Renee Shumate Vice Chair Sherrice Thomas Secretary Timothy T. Miller Treasurer Amy Dawson Past Chair

Shannon Isom President & CEO

Kristina Arcara Trudy Bartley Barbara H. Benham Sonya Higginbotham Erik Janas Andy Keller Alison Marker Kittrella Mikell Sheila Prillerman Stephen M. Smith Michael Stevens Jonathan D. Welty Nathan P. Wymer

FOUNDING SPONSORS//

City of Columbus Columbus Chamber The Columbus Foundation Franklin County Board of Commissioners Metropolitan Area Church Council United Way of Central Ohio

community shelter board 355 e campus view Blvd., suite 250 Columbus Ohio 43235

Columbus Onio 43233

614 221 9195 / main 614 221 9199 / fax www.csb.org FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 30, 2024 For more information, contact: Issrah Saleh, isaleh@csb.org 614-905-3434

TIMOTHY MILLER HONORED WITH COMMUNITY SHELTER BOARD'S 2024 MEL SCHOTTENSTEIN LEADERSHIP AWARD

(Columbus, OH) – Community Shelter Board honored Timothy Miller with its 2024 Mel Schottenstein Leadership Award in recognition of his longstanding commitment to basic needs in the Columbus community.

An awards ceremony was held today at Columbus State Community College, attended by more than 250 people, where a series of awards were presented.

Tim's extraordinary dedication spans 24 years of service on the CSB Board of Trustees, during which he held several key leadership roles, including Chair and Treasurer. His extensive tenure and versatile contributions were instrumental in shaping and strengthening the Board's governance and strategic direction.

Over the past two decades, Tim has been a steadfast advocate for numerous initiatives to address homelessness. His leadership was crucial in driving a multi-million-dollar campaign to expand shelter capacity for single adults and families, and to improve housing services. Notably, in the wake of the pandemic, Tim swiftly leveraged his networks to engage legacy families and enhance community support efforts. Tim's dedication and visionary leadership have significantly impacted the Columbus and Franklin County community and advanced CSB's mission to end homelessness.

Community Shelter Board honors change makers with its Mel Schottenstein Leadership Award. This annual award honors Melvin Schottenstein's legacy to homeless persons in the Columbus community. This honor is for leaders who have done something quite remarkable to make a significant difference in the lives of people experiencing homelessness. The award honors deep and far-reaching commitment, caring, leadership, and vision in the battle against homelessness.

Community Shelter Board leads a coordinated, community effort to make sure everyone has a place to call home in Columbus and Franklin County, Ohio. CSB was founded in 1986 on the vision that no one should be homeless in our community, for even one night. As the system leader for the prevention of and response to homelessness in Central Ohio, CSB funds and coordinates care across 16 partner agencies providing outreach, homelessness prevention, emergency shelter, and housing programs to help low-income families and single adults facing homelessness in Franklin County regain housing stability. Over the past 10 years alone, CSB's system of care has housed more than 35,000 people.

Community Shelter Board is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the City of Columbus, the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, the State of Ohio, United Way of Central Ohio, Nationwide Foundation, American Electric Power Foundation, The Columbus Foundation, and many other public and private investors.